About Us

Incorporated in 1673, the Town of Deerfield is located in Franklin County, along the Connecticut River and Deerfield River Valleys in Western Massachusetts. The northern part of Town is often referred to as Old Deerfield and the southern part is called South Deerfield.

General Features

  • An area of 33.57 square miles.
  • 82 miles of Town Roads, maintained by the Deerfield Highway Department.
  • 17 miles of State Highways, maintained by the Massachusetts Department of Transportation.
  • Contiguous to the Towns of Conway, Montague, Shelburne, Sunderland, Whately, and the City of Greenfield.


  • Open Town Meeting form of government, with a three-member Selectboard that sets policy and a Town Administrator that oversees daily operations. - Please visit the Secretary of State's Guide to Town Meetings for more information Here:  Town Meeting Information Page 
  • Annual Town Meeting on the Last Monday in April, at Frontier Regional School.
  • Annual Elections on the First Monday in May, at the Town Offices.
  • Population 5125 (2010 Federal Census).
  • Registered voters 3688.

Public Institutions

  • Deerfield Elementary School, grades Pre-K through 6. A part of School Union Number 38 (includes Conway, Deerfield, Sunderland, and Whately)
  • Frontier Regional School, grades 7 to 12.
  • Tilton Library

Public Works

Public Works Department, including Director and highway crew, wastewater treatment facilities in South Deerfield and Deerfield; Transfer Station, open on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from 8:30 am to 4 pm.

Public Safety & Services

  • Police Department, staffed by the Chief of Police, eight full-time and twelve part-time officers, and a full-time Administrative Assistant/Matron, operated 24 hours per day, seven days a week.
  • South County Regional Emergency Services (SCEMS), regional ambulance services for Deerfield, Sunderland, and Whately.